• Katherine Josephau home
  • Katherine Josephau home 2
Katherine Joséphau

SIGUINE

an other way to move
an other way to feel

Katherine Josephau's unique way to teach bridges African dance techniques spontaneity, Contemporean dance rigour and body consciousness of soft techniques.

Katherine offers to each one to master body fundamentals and to develop your own ability to dance and to improvise.

Summer workshop

Summer workshop

2015, August 15th to 20th in Ardèche
Dance and music

Dance and music

Dance and improvise with live music
Workshops

Workshops

Paris, Issy-les-moulineaux and abroad
Performances

Performances

choreographic pieces
Ardèche summer workshop

Ardèche summer workshop

One week of Dance with Katherine Josephau, open to everybody regardless of skills and experience, to awaken body awareness, open sensitiveness, develop movement consciousness in order to find each one own dance.

Deep body awakening in the morning thanks to original warm-up exercises to enhance body availability and prepare to move. After a short break, standing step sequences to enter the movement where rhythm and space notions will be addressed. In the afternoon, with instructions and small sequences we will approach improvisation with its multiples aspects. We will develop listening quality and group energy flow. We will look for music and dance interaction. This will naturally lead us to composition with musicians. This work will allow us to prepare without any constraint a short presentation at the end of the week, this peak of the week will be followed by a friendly 'jam' with Marelles audience.

More informations

  • Katherine Joséphau

    Contemporary dance teacher. Educated in Guadeloupe then in Paris to Contemporary, African, Butoh dances and to movement analysis techniques, she developed her personal teaching and creative work since many years.

    She organises workshops and lessons and create performances and choreography with musicians in Europe, Guadeloupe and in South Korea where she continues to develop collaborations with traditional and street dance.

    She participated to creations and performances of many choreographers and artist in France and abroad: Elsa Wolliaston, Mic Guillaumes, Masaki Iwana, Koffi Koko, Bruce Taylor, Toto Bissainthe, Suzon Holzer, Grands ballets d'Afrique Noire, Norma Claire, Irène Tassembedo, ...) and she produces her own choreographic and performance activity.

    Recent creations : :
    - Duo "Bananier" with Philippe Perrier - Incheon Korea International Dance Biennale INDABI 2004,
    - Improvisation with Sabir Mateen (Sax), Didier Lasserre (Dms) - Montreuil 2008,
    - Improvisations Dance-Music with Olivier Floro and Philippe Perrier (Festival Canopy 2008 Paris),
    - Performances with Pakaré musicians (France 2005 à 2012),
    - "Grand chemin" Improvisation on Jean-François André paintings with Marelles musicians (Ardèche 2012),
    - "Waiting" with Taesun Yoo and Philippe Perrier Oct 2012, Seoul, South Korea,
    - "Montagnes" with Now Dance company and Philippe Perrier 2013 April Seoul International Improvisation Dance Festival / ARKO Theater,
    - "Resonance" with Philippe Perrier Oct 19th & 20th 2013 Geryongsan Dance Festival, South Korea,
    - "Memories" 2014 with Philippe Perrier Oct 19th & 20th Geryongsan Dance Festival, South Korea,
    - "Experimental Sunday, Last Day of November" with Trio (Haku Sungho, Son Jihyun, Philippe Perrier) Blue Light Hongdae Seoul | 1st Feb 2015,
    - "Ah Ah Ah" Avril 2015 Seoul International Improvisation Festival Arkko Theatre May 2015 with four dancers (Oh Saebin, Park Knukl, Emmanueil Sanou, Katherine Joséphau) and two musicians (Haku Sungho, Amidou Balani).

  • Philippe Perrier

    Amateur saxophonist and poly-instrumentist, educated by ear and thanks to musical encounters. He participates to Katherine Josephau's choreographic and teaching activity since many years, always with improvisation in mind and mixing acoustic instruments with electronic ones.

    Found of Caribbean music and open jazz, he currently plays with "Pakaré" in Europe and Guadeloupe and with "Trio" in South Korea.

    Last CD :

    - "Experimental Sundaywith "Trio" - July 2015 (South Korea)

Dance and Improvisation

Painting by Olivier Laude

• Katherine Josephau home
  • Katherine Josephau home 2
Katherine Joséphau

SIGUINE

Une autre façon de bouger,
une autre façon d'éprouver.

L'enseignement original de Katherine Joséphau allie la spontanéité de la danse d'expression africaine, la rigueur de la danse contemporaine et la conscience corporelle issue des techniques douces.

Katherine propose à chacun de maîtriser les fondamentaux de son corps et de développer ses aptitudes à la danse et à l'improvisation chorégraphique.

Stage de danse

Stage de danse

à Marelles (Ardèche) du 15 au 20 août
Musique & danse

Musique & danse

Danser et improviser avec la musique live
Ateliers

Ateliers

à Paris, Issy-les-Moulineaux et à l'étranger
Performances

Performances

création chorégraphique
Stage d'été en Ardèche

Stage d'été en Ardèche

Une semaine de danse avec Katherine Joséphau, accessible à tous sans distinction de niveau ou d’expérience, pour éveiller la perception corporelle, susciter les sens et affûter la conscience du mouvement afin de trouver sa propre danse.

Echauffement en profondeur le matin par un travail progressif de conscience du corps à l’aide d’exercices originaux au sol pour améliorer la disponibilité et préparer au mouvement. Après une courte pause, enchaînements debout pour une mise en mouvement où les notions de rythme et d’espace sont abordés. L’après-midi, à partir de consignes et de petits enchaînements, approche de l’improvisation et de ses aspects multiples. Nous travaillerons l’écoute et la circulation de l’énergie du groupe. Nous rechercherons l’interaction entre la danse et la musique. Nous déboucherons ainsi naturellement ensemble et avec les musiciens sur la composition. Ce travail nous permettra d’élaborer sans contraintes une présentation en fin de stage, moment fort de la semaine que nous enchaînerons avec une « jam » avec le public de Marelles.

En savoir +

  • Katherine Joséphau

    Professeur de Danse Contemporaine titulaire de la Dispense du Diplôme d’état. Formée en Guadeloupe puis à Paris à la Danse Contemporaine, Africaine, Butoh et aux techniques d'analyse du mouvement, a développé un travail personnel d’enseignement et de création chorégraphique depuis de nombreuses années.

    Elle organise des stages et cours de danse et improvisation et crée des performances et chorégraphies avec des musiciens en Europe, en Guadeloupe et en Corée du Sud où elle poursuit ses recherches avec la danse de rue et les danses traditionnelles.

    Elle participe aux créations et performances de différents chorégraphes et artistes français et étrangers : Elsa Wolliaston, Mic Guillaumes, Masaki Iwana, Koffi Koko, Bruce Taylor, Toto Bissainthe, Suzon Holzer, Grands ballets d'Afrique Noire, Norma Claire, Irène Tassembedo, ...) et produit son propre travail chorégraphique et de performance.

    Créations récentes :
    - Duo "Bananier" avec Philippe Perrier à Incheon Corée du International Biennal Danse INDABI 2004,
    - Improvisation avec Sabir Mateen (Sax), Didier Lasserre (Dms) à Montreuil 2008,
    - Improvisations Danse-Musique avec Olivier Floro et Philippe Perrier (Festival Canopy 2008 Paris),
    - Performances avec les musiciens du groupe Pakaré (France 2005 à 2012),
    - "Grand chemin" Improvisation sur les peintures de Jean-François André avec les musiciens de Marelles (Ardèche 2012),
    - "Waiting" avec Taesun Yoo et Philippe Perrier Oct 2012, Seoul, South Korea,
    - "Montagnes" avec la Compagnie Now Dance et Philippe Perrier 2013 April Seoul International Improvisation Dance Festival / ARKO Theater,
    - "Resonance" avec Philippe Perrier Oct 19th & 20th 2013 Geryongsan Dance Festival, South Korea,
    - "Memories" 2014 avec Philippe Perrier Oct 19th & 20th Geryongsan Dance Festival, South Korea,
    - "Experimental Sunday, Last Day of November" avec Trio (Haku Sungho, Son Jihyun, Philippe Perrier) Blue Light Hongdae Seoul | 1st Feb 2015,
    - "Ah Ah Ah" Avril 2015 Seoul International Improvisation Festival Arkko Theatre May 2015 pour quatre danseurs (Oh Saebin, Park Knukl, Emmanueil Sanou, Katherine Joséphau) et deux musiciens (Haku Sungho, Amidou Balani).

  • Philippe Perrier

    Saxophoniste et poly-instrumentiste amateur, formé à l'oreille et au gré des rencontres musicales. Il participe au travail de création chorégraphique et d'enseignement de Katherine Joséphau depuis de nombreuses années avec toujours l'improvisation en fil directeur et un mélange entre les instruments acoustiques et les instruments électroniques.

    Passionné par les musiques Caraïbes et le Jazz libre, il se produit actuellement au sein de "Pakaré" en Europe et en Guadeloupe et avec le groupe "Trio" en Corée du Sud.

    Dernier CD :

    - "Experimental Sunday" avec "Trio" - Juillet 2015 (Corée du Sud)

Danse & Improvisation

peinture : Olivier Laude